The Full List Of Academy Award Winners 2013



The 85th Academy Awards Ceremony saw British born actor Daniels Day-Lewis make history by becoming the first man to win the Best Actor Award three times. He fought off competition, from Bradley Cooper (Silver Linings Playbook), Hugh Jackman (Les Miserables), Joaquin Pheonix (The Master) and Denzel Washinton (Flight), for his portrayal of President Abraham Lincoln in the Speilberg produced Lincoln. He has previously won for My Left Foot (1989) and There Will Be Blood (2007).
Daniel Day-Lewis wasn’t the only Brit to pick up an award, Adele won the Best Original Song Oscar, along with Paul Epworth, for their Bond theme Skyfall.

The Best Picture Award went to Ben Affleck’s Iran hostage thriller Argo, despite him not even receiving a nomination for Best Director (the first time since Driving Miss Daisy in 1990). That honor went to Ang Lee for Life of Pi, which unsurprisingly also won the Award for Best Visual Effects and Best Cinematography.

Jennifer Lawrence received the Best Actress Award for Silver Linings Playbook and Anne Hathaway picked up the Oscar for Best Actress in a Supporting Role for Les Miserables.

Here’s the complete list of nominees and winners, complete with links if they are available on streaming services.

Best Picture:
NomineesAmour, Beasts of the Southern Wild, Django Unchained, Les Miserables, Life of Pi, Lincoln, Silver Linings Playbook and Zero Dark Thirty.

Actor in a Leading Role:
Winner – Daniel Day-Lewis (Lincoln)
Nominees – Bradley Cooper (Silver Linings Playbook), Hugh Jackman (Les Miserables), Joaquin Pheonix (The Master), Denzel Washington (Flight)

Actress in a Leading Role:
Winner – Jennifer Lawrence (Silver Linings Playbook)
Nominees – Jessica Chastain (Zero Dark Thirty), Emmanuelle Riva (Amour), Quvenzhané Wallis (Beasts of the Southern Wild), Naomi Watts (The Impossible)

Supporting Actor:
Winner – Christopher Waltz (Django Unchained)
Nominees – Alan Arkin (Argo), Robert De Niro (Silver Linings Playbook), Phillip Seymour Hoffman (The Master), Tommy Lee Jones (Lincoln)

Supporting Actress:
Winner – Anne Hathaway (Les Miserables)
Nominees – Amy Adams (The Master), Sally Field (Lincoln), Helen Hunt (The Sessions), Jacki Weaver (Silver Linings Playbook)

Animated Feature:
WinnerBrave (Mark Andrews and Brenda Chapman)
NomineesFrankenweenie (Tim Burton), ParaNorman (Sam Fell & Chris Butler), The Pirates! Band of Misfits (Peter Lord), Wreck it Ralph (Rich Moore)

WinnerLife of Pi (Claudio Miranda)
Nominees – Anna Karenina (Seamus McGarvey), Django Unchained (Robert Richardson), Lincoln (Janusz Kaminski), Skyfall (Roger Deakins)

Costume Design:
Winner – Anna Karenina (Jacqueline Durran)
Nominees – Les Miserables (Paco Delgado), Lincoln (Joanna Johnston), Mirror Mirror (Eiko Ishioka), Snow White and the Huntsman (Colleen Atwood)

WinnerLife of Pi (Ang Lee)
Nominees – Amour (Michael Haneke), Beasts of the Southern Wild (Benh Zeitlin), Lincoln (Steven Speilberg), Silverlinings Playbook (David O. Russell)

Documentary Feature:
WinnerSearching for Sugar Man (Malik Bendjelloul and Simon Chinn)
Nominees5 Broken Cameras (Emad Burnat and Guy Davidi), The Gatekeepers (Dror Moreh, Philippa Kowarsky and Estelle Fialon), How to Survive a Plague (David France and Howard Gertler), The Invisible War (Kirby Dick and Amy Ziering)

Documentary Short:
Winner – Inocente (Sean Fine & Andrea Nix)
Nominees – Kings Point (Sari Gilman & Jedd Wider), Mondays at Racine (Cynthia Wade & Robin Honan), Open Heart (Kief Davidson & Cori Shepherd), Redemption (Jon Alpert & Matthew O’Neill)

Film Editing:
WinnerArgo (William Goldenberg)
NomineesLife of Pi (Tim Squyres), Lincoln (Michael Kahn), Silver Linings Playbook (Jay Cassidy & Crispin Struthers), Zero Dark Thirty (Dylan Tichenor & William Goldenberg)

Foreign Language Film:
Winner – Amour (Austria)
Nominees – NO (Chile), A Royal Affair (Denmark), War Witch (Canada)

MakeUp and Hairstyling:
Winner – Les Miserable (Lisa Westcott & Julie Dartnell)
NomineesHitchcock (Howard Berger, Peter Montagna & Martin Samuel), The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Peter Swords King, Rick Findlater and Tami Lane)

Original Score:
WinnerLife of Pi (Mychael Danna)
Nominees – Anna Karenina (Dario Marianelli), Argo (Alexandre Danna), Lincoln (John Williams), Skyfall (Thomas Newman)

Original Song:
Winner – “Skyfall” from Skyfall (Music and Lyric by Adele Adkins and Paul Epworth)
Nominees – “Before My Time” from Chasing Ice (Music and Lyric by J. Ralph), “Everybody Needs A Best Friend” from Ted (Music by Walter Murphy; Lyric by Seth MacFarlane), “Pi’s Lullaby” from Life of Pi (Music by Mychael Danna; Lyric by Bombay Jayashri), “Suddenly” from Les Misérables (Music by Claude-Michel Schönberg; Lyric by Herbert Kretzmer and Alain Boublil)

Production Design:
Winner – Lincoln (Rick Carter – Production Design ; Jim Erickson – Set Decoration)
Nominees – Anna Karenina (Sarah Greenwood – Production Design ; Katie Spencer – Set Decoration), The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Dan Hennah – Production Design ; Ra Vincent and Simon Bright – Set Decoration), Life of Pi (David Gropman – Production Design ; Anna Pinnock – Set Decoration)

Animated Short Film:
WinnerPaperman (John Kahrs)
Nominees – Adam and Dog (Minkyu Lee), Fresh Guacamole (PES), Head Over Heals (Timothy Reckart and Fodhla Cronin O’Reilly), Maggie Simpson in “The Longest Daycare” (David Silverman)

Live Action Short Film:
Winner – Curfew (Shawn Christensen)
Nominees – Asad (Bryan Buckley and Mino Jarjoura), Buzkashi Boys (Sam French and Ariel Nasr), Death of a Shadow (Dood van een Schaduw) (Tom Van Avermaet and Ellen De Waele), Henry (Yan England)

Sound Editing:
WinnerSkyfall (Per Hallberg and Karen Baker Landers) and Zero Dark Thirty (Paul N.J. Ottosson)
NomineesArgo (Erik Aadahl and Ethan Van der Ryn), Django Unchained (Wylie Stateman), Life of Pi (Eugene Gearty and Philip Stockton)

Sound Mixing:
Winners – Les Miserables (Andy Nelson, Mark Paterson and Simon Hayes)
NomineesArgo (John Reitz, Gregg Rudloff and Jose Antonio Garcia), Life of Pi (Ron Bartlett, D.M. Hemphill and Drew Kunin), Lincoln (Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom and Ronald Judkins), Skyfall (Scott Millan, Greg P. Russell and Stuart Wilson)

Visual Effects:
WinnerLife of Pi (Bill Westenhofer, Guillaume Rocheron, Erik-Jan De Boer and Donald R. Elliott)
Nominees – The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton and R. Christopher White), Marvel’s The Avengers (Janek Sirrs, Jeff White, Guy Williams and Dan Sudick), Prometheus (Richard Stammers, Trevor Wood, Charley Henley and Martin Hill), Snow White and the Huntsman (Cedric Nicolas-Troyan, Philip Brennan, Neil Corbould and Michael Dawson)

Best Adapted Screenplay:
WinnerArgo (Chris Terrio)
NomineesBeasts of the Southern Wild (Screenplay by Lucy Alibar & Benh Zeitlin), Life of Pi (Written by David Magee), Lincoln (Written by Tony Kushner), Silver Linings Playbook (Written by David O. Russell)

Best Original Screenplay:
Winner – Django Unchained (Written by Quentin Tarantino)
Nominees – Amour (Written by Michael Haneke), Flight (Written by John Gatins), Moonrise Kingdom (Written by Wes Anderson & Roman Coppola), Zero Dark Thirty (Written by Mark Boal)






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>